Pentax

<p>Hi, I'm an amateur neolithic photographer coming out of his cave and figures on turning in his coal powered Pentax ME super, for a digital body, if only for the simple reason that I won't have to waste hard earned cash on bad shots (as are most of mine). I have a mixed bag of lenses including a Sigma Super Wide 1:28, a Prinzflex 80-200 and an Asahi M 1:1.7. All have the same K (I assume) lens mount.<br>

So, swallowing my non existant pride, I'm asking you guys for a bit of advice. Within a reasonable price range, should I stick with Pentax and if so what body types, or if I would be better off looking at other cameras that have the same K mount (if any). I look forward to any advice. </p>

<p>If your lenses are all the same vintage as your ME Super, they are probably not A series lenses (an A on the f/stop ring past f/22 or whatever the minimum aperture is). That means that they won't meter at full aperture the way they do on your ME Super, but rather stopped down, which isn't as accurate with Pentax DSLRs in my experience. The other issue is that the currently available Pentax DSLR bodies have an APS-C chip, which is smaller than 35 mm film. The upshot is that your 28 mm wide angle won't seem quite so wide (it will be like a 42 mm lens on 35 mm film). Pentax is promising a "full frame" DSR early next year, but it probably won't be cheap. Pentax, Canon and Nikon all make APS-C DSLRs at quite affordable prices, and Canon and Nikon also make full frame DSLRs for more make money. There aren't many other DSLRs with the K mount, but many mirrorless cameras from Fuji and Sony have available adapters for K mount and other SLR mounts. <br>

I have been quite happy with Pentax DSLRs, and the currently available K-3 (just discontinued, but still available new) is a very capable camera at a very reasonable price (around $650 for the body from B&H).</p>