pentax k2000

dnsharon99

<p>hello all, i am a newbie, and decided i wanted a entry-level digital camera. i bought a pentax k2000 because it seemed to be a decent entry level camera that i could use my lenses from my 35mm camera on. was just wondering if anybody has one of these and how they like it, or maybe some tips for a beginer to get better pictures. i am mostly interested in portraits. thank you.</p>

<p>Don't have that particular camera Dan, but from what I've heard, it's a good entry level camera, expecially as you say you have some 35mm k-mount lenses lying around. Enjoy! Use the search box up top right to read more about the camera and portrait shooting, and also wait till more people get the chance to answer here.</p>

<p>My 2 cents regarding portaits - good quality prime lens rather than a zoom, maybe a flash or two and some reflectors. Beyond this, you would have to lay out more of what you are looking to do.</p>

<p>Welcome to the family.</p>

<p>Welcome to Photo.net Pentax forum, Dan! </p>

<p>Controlling your aperture affects your Depth Of Field (DOF). DOF is how much of the content of your picture will be sharp. This can be important for portrait use, because often it is desirable to have a reduced, shallower DOF, causing the background to be out of focus to one degree or another, so that the subject is sharp and stands out against the less sharp or even blury background. The wider the aperture (smaller number), the more the DOF is reduced, so less of the picture will be sharp. </p>

<p>The opposite need is usually the case for scenic shots, where a substantial DOF is desirable, and a smaller aperture (larger number) is employed.</p>

<p>Since you have had a 35mm camera for some time, what has been your experience with it? A DSLR operates in much the same way. What has been your experience as to using the Manual, AV, Tv, and Program modes, if your 35mm body has these? Which model is it? </p>