Panasonic - GX7 - Which kit lens to go for?

<p>Guys - Please bear in mind I am a novice/beginner and growing from Point and Shoot and working to get the kit sorted quickly to start with.<br>

2 options to chose from !<br>

1. G 20mm F1.7 II - Prime Lens - Highly recommended - Usually expensive kit option - Also Expensive than the option 2 if you buy separate (GBP 225 Approx) - Cost of Kit = GBP680<br>

2. G VARIO 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 II - Most commonly offered Kit lens. Cheaper to buy separate compare to option 1.(GBP 100) - Cost of Kit = GBP750<br>

On just one one website I have managed to find the price of option 1 kit cheaper than the option 2.<br>

So the question is selecting one of the 2 options:<br>

1. Buy above option 1 kit only for GBP 680<br>

2. Buy above option 2 kit only for GBP750<br>

3. Buy option 1 kit and G VARIO 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 II lens for GBP 780<br>

Please could you help.</p>

<p>Regards</p>

<p>I have both lenses, although not on that camera, and I use both. Your options 1 and 3 aren't mutually exclusive, so I'd go with 1, as that prime is a great lens that you will definitely want. Then buy the zoom later if you want it. Or, you might prefer to go with all primes. If you're new to serious photography, starting with only one lens, a prime, I think is a good way to start.</p>

<p>If you're coming from a point and shoot you're going to find a zoom lens to be more in-line with your existing experience. I would start there and then add a another lens /after/ you figure out which one best meets your needs. The 20mm might not be what you need for your photography. </p>