P67 Takumar 400/4.0 info needed

lou_grinzo

I have a chance to buy a Pentax 67 400mm Takumar lens in extremely good condition. Before I make a commitment, I wanted to check with this group for opinions about the lens.

<p>

I know that this thing is big and heavy, and that it's not the current ED model, etc. But it's not clear to me what size filters it takes (front? rear?), or what the overall quality is. (I'm buying this long distance, so I don't have a chance to see the lens in person.) I've heard a few comments from people that the current 300/4.0 is "a little bit soft", so I'm concerned that I'll have that problem with this lens.

<p>

Any and all comments would be greatly appreciated!

<p>

Lou

I have no experience with this lens, but here's a little info from and older Pentax catalog. Optical construction is 5-5, manual diaphram only, 12 degree angle of view, minimum focusing distance of 8 meters (26.24 feet), minimum aperture is 45, overall length is 287mm (11.3 inches), weight is 2,570g (5.67 pounds), and filter size is 77mm.

<p>

Hope this helps.

<p>

Joel Collins | jwc3@mindspring.com | http://www.mindspring.com/~jwc3

I recently acquired one of these lenses, and have yet to be satisfied with it. It is quite a bit softer than either my 45 or 75 at middle apertures, and it is prone to shutter shake.

It has a 25ft minimum focusing distance (25 feet!!!), and uses the outer bayonet to mount, which can require more than a little patience.

Add its weight, and difficulty in setting up with smaller to mid sized heads, and I now realize my better choice would have been a 135 or 165 with a teleconverter.

Just my $0.02

Regards,

Mike Mahoney