Orthophotography?

<p>I'm a commercial photographer looking to find out what goes into Orthophotography. That is creating accurate aerial map images.<br>

I just found a company looking for bids on an upcoming project, and I'm wondering if this is something I should be interested in, or if it's so specialized that I should let it pass. The project requires images of a 4 square mile area. The deliverables include: flight plan map containing: flight lines, flight breaks and proposed ground control, a camera calibration report, aero-triangulation data in any standard format, and a set of color orthophotos in GeoTIFF & Mr. SID formats.<br>

I've taken photos from a helicopter before using a gyro, but never for mapping purposes. Are these images usually done with a camera mounted to t he plane? Who takes these photos, normal photographers or people who specialize in this type of work?<br>

Thank you.</p>

<p>

<p>I used to work as an instrument operator. My gut instinct is to tell you that you are about to get in over your head. Watch your step. </p>

<p>An old land survey text recommends the book, "Airphoto Interpretation of the Physical Environment" by G. Bird and I. Hale. This would be for applying the information from an aerial photo.</p>

<p>First off, if you don't know anything about how a survey crew or an engineer uses aerial photos, you need to sit down and talk to someone at a firm. </p>

<p>The basic answer is,<strong> equipment considerations alone</strong> make photomapping (photogrammetric mapping) a specialized job. We're talking about lens assemblies that look like they are about the size of a basketball, in housings that look like they ought to be bombardier sights on a WWII era plane. </p>