Opening a Photography Store

<p>Hey, I am a relatively new photographer in my area of Westchester, New York. For all of my photography needs pertaining to equipment I have to drive into Manhattan to B&H which can be extremely inconvenient if all I need is a light or umbrella. <br>

So recently I've been thinking of opening up a photo store here in my area to sell cameras, lenses, equipment and possibly provide portrait services and digital prints. However, I have no idea about where to start. First I would have to do some research but I don't know where to begin. Is it even worth it? Will people simply buy their stuff online? There are a few small photo stores in my area but they are severely lacking in stock and suffer from terrible marketing and have almost no online presence (websites, facebook, etc).<br>

Any advice?</p>

<p>I can think of at least a dozen photo stores in Phoenix who have closed in the past 5 yrs, and there are hundred all over the US. When People want to buy a camera or lenses now they think of Best Buy or Circuit City not a photographic store. In order to be able to sell something you have to have it in stock and it would take hundreds of thousands of dollars to have a fully stocked photo store. I think you are about 30 yrs to late. Good Luck . </p>

<blockquote>

<p>Will people simply buy their stuff online?</p>

</blockquote>

<p><br /><br>

Yes, the only time I buy locally is when I can't wait a few days or if I need to touch it before I buy it. Local cost 10-20% more when you figure in the tax. I rarely need to touch things now, once you are locked into a system, online reviews are usually good enough for me.</p>