One off photos and friends pics - How do you organize them

jason_petty1

So I have a organizing system thats working for me. Everything is organized by "YEAR\ MONTH-DAY-EVENT"

Now there are those one off photos that don't fall into a specific event. For example I took a picture of a huge

bottle of wine at a restaurant that had a friends name on it. There were no other photos taken that night. Or for

another example I took a few pics at a bar on a random night. How would you organize these photos?

Also how do you all organize photos taken by friends\family. For example, when we have out of town guests stay

with us we usually exchange photos before then leave. Do you all just mix them in with your own collection or

keep them separate?

I would love to hear everyone's take.

Thanks - Jason

Jason, I'm a wedding photographer, and I just maintain separate folders for recent weddings, completed weddings, family photos, portrait sessions, etc. With family photos, I like to create folders for each year, and then place all the photos from each event in the appropriate year. I name the sub folders with a unique name, such as, "Kids at Park June 08" or something like that. As long as it's a system you understand, it really doesn't have to be too elaborate. Keeping your files backed up is really important, though. You can get a Carbonite subscription that will automatically back everything up on your computer via the internet connection for $50 a year. That's cheaper and more reliable than maintaining a separate hard drive, or burning everything to CD.

I'd also recommend trying out ACDSee Pro 2 as an image management software. It's only $130, but does SO much for organizing, editing and adjusting, batch processing, and maintaining your photos, you'll wonder how you got along without it. You can find photos by many methods, you can rank photos, and find them by their ranking, you can search for all the photo folders you accessed on a certain date, etc.