On-Site Event Printing - HiTi?

mc2imaging

<p>I've been doing shoot & print events for several years now. It's not my bread & butter thing, but I do ok doing 3 or 4 events a year. The first one I did for a friend's charity event using inkjet, and when the next opportunity came along I purchased a Kodak 1400 dye sub printer (of which I own 2 of now). Printing costs have remained flat for these printers for years - no problem.</p>

<p>Not long after I bought my first 1400, I purchased a 4x6 Kodak dye sub printer for CRAZY cheap - like practically FREE! A few events I do are a bit too low-buck for running the 1400 and I actually make more money feeding the little printer at $.30 a pop (Yeah, making MORE money selling SMALLER prints doesn't make sense to me either). Problem is that after 4 years of buying 160 count print kits to get my cost down to .30/print, the kits have become significantly more expensive and harder to find.</p>

<p>Printing multiples on one sheet through a 1400 doesn't fit the business model for a variety of reasons...</p>

<p>I don't make the kind of money doing this to justify dropping $900 or more on a printer, but two or three hundred bucks, maybe. I went poking around at B&H and found the HiTi P110S that fits the bill nicely, except I know NOTHING about the company. I've looked at their customer service forums and the broken english (and comments like, "We don't support that, but you are welcome to test that to see if it works!") scares the poop out of me. (ACTUAL QUOTE: "It might be works (but the function may not completely).")</p>

<p>Basically, I'm looking for any sort of feedback on HiTi printers, but if someone has any recommendations on alternatives that sell for 2 to 3 hundred dollars and make 4x6's for about $.30/print, I'm open for suggestions!</p>

<p>And by "more expensive" and "harder to find" he means his wife has been all over the internet for 3 days now trying to find print kits for less than $1 - $1.50 per 4x6!!!! <br>