on location shooting

Hello, I am just starting to learn about all the diffrent lighting, I have been using naturual/availiable light when

shooting. Most of my shooting is on location portraits (family,senior,children) shoot in parks ect., and I occasionally

shoot a few weddings. When shooting in a park and on a normal portrait sessions we generally change location

many times within the park wich could mean a big hassle for picking up and moving lights around. So my question

is...Is the available light with a reflector generally enough? Do I need a bracket to move my flash slightly off camera

so it still travels easily with me? Or do I need another set up? Keeping in mind that I do shoot the occasional

weeding also. Thank you for your help. And rember I'm just starting with the lighting so simple lamen's terms will

help me greatly!lol.

Kim

I think you'd get best results w/ least hassle by putting a fairly powerful hot-shoe mounted strobe on a small stand like a Bogen 'Nano 001' stand and shoemount adaptor.

getting the flash off the camera, even on a bracket is an improvement.

depends on how much 'hassle' you're willing to endure to improve the quality of your output.

I dont really mind the set up and moving of lights, I was more thinking it would be a hassle to my clients if they had to wait on me to move and set up lights for each arrangment. My shoots are generally 1 1/2 to 2 hours in lenghth and I would say it involves 7-10 location moves within a park or area. So using a bracket is convient but not necisarly "acceptable"?

Kim

Good morning, Kimberly.

I did this sort of thing on a ton of families and seniors for the 17 years I had a portrait studio. Many of the

same techniques still apply to a lot of my current commercial out door work.

Admittedly, I am a very opinionated person and others may have equally valid opinions of their own, so don't take