OM still has fans

akochanowski

For all you OM fans, here's a little anecdote. I was covering the Detroit Electronic Music Festival over

the weekend. Lots of thumpng techno music, glowsticks, 20-25 year olds. When I was done shooting

with my Nikon D300 for the people who wanted the pictures, I put it away and took out my old OM 4Ti

with a 28/2.8 just to see if there were any interesting shots for me. Within 20 minutes a guy who

couldn't have been more than 25 came over and started asking if I still like shooting with the OM, and

how his first camera was an OM1. Hard to imagine that there are still people under 40 who appreciate

this little gem. Though I've mostly been shooting digital for the past 3 years, I'm glad I haven't sold my

OM4Ti kit. The negs from the show look just great.

I'm approaching 40 and I've been shooting Olympus OM for the last 20 years. I bought a new OM10 with 35-70mm 3.5-4.5 as my first camera. That camera started a love affair with the system. I was never tempted to switch brands when autofocus came along. After the OM10 I quickly progressed to an OM2S and OM1 and now shoot with an OM4Ti. I have a fairly conprehensive collection of OM lenses including a 90mm F2 and 80mm F4 bellows lens (OMs great system for Macro).

Recently I bought a Nikon 40x digital SLR and am getting excellent results from this camera, but its just not the same as my OM4Ti to use.

I can't see myself selling my OM gear. After having not used my OM gear for about 5 months I went for a walk with my OM4Ti it loaded with Kodak E100GX slide file the other day and a couple of primes. It was the most fun photography I have done in a long time.

My first camera was an OM-1 handed down from my Dad. I still use it as my second camera, though one of these days I need to get the light meter fixed. My primary camera is an OM-1n.