Old Vivitar 285s

dave_dejoy

<p>Thought I would start a new thread. My interest is photographing watercolor paintings. I do have two old Vivitar 285 flashes (not the HV version). But I have very little experience with off camera flash. What I would need to trigger these two flashes? I am shooting a fairly old Pentax DSLR. Wireless is one option. Suggestions for using these flashes as such welcome. Another might be to use a Wein Safe Sync with cable connections to the flashes. Thanks for any help.</p>

<p>First of all, can you have the voltage at the sync cord tested to be sure whether you can safely attach one of these to a camera via a long sync cord or (for other subjects) use it in the camera's hot shoe. Check the voltage that your camera's sync system will allow and make the comparison. If they don't match up, you HAVE to use an interface at the hot shoe to keep from serious damage to the camera's innerds.</p>

<p>If everything checks out, you can set one or both on slaves fired from a sync cord or by using another flash on camera but pointed to the ceiling to avoid it's light contaminating that from the copy positioned 285's. The suggestion about a flash meter is valid. Copying art is very exacting work if you wish to capture the nuances of the painting.</p>

<p>I have used 3 methods over the years, Tim mentions a 4th.<br>

<br>

1) Two wireless triggers, I use Yongnuo RF-602 (about $25). The newer RF-603 models are more versatile, but I have not used them. Available on Amazon. They sell a Canon & Nikon model, these will include cables to fire the shutter also. Either should work with a Pentax, worst case, you may need to tape over the extra contacts on the hot shoe.<br>

<br>

2) 2 PC cords with a Y-connection. Y-connections are hard to find, I make my own. I always use a Wein Safe Sync, even if the voltages are compatible, the PC connector on the camera wears out easily.<br>

<br>

3) One PC cord + Safe Sync and put the second flash on an optical slave.<br>