I'm a semi professional photographer who usually works in a studio where I take

portraits, family shots, band shots and so on. I also do quite a bit of

TFP-shoots, and I often post these on my flickr account ->

Hogne B. Pettersen

Yesterday I received an email from a big international advertising agency where

they asked if they could use one of my flickr photos for one second in a

television ad, together with several other flickr photos they had gained

permission to use.

A friend of mine who's a professional photographer said the $300 offer they gave

me was way too low, and if I said yes, it would come back to haunt me in the

future. Especially if this agency gets in contact with me via their Norwegian

offices in the future.

He does have a point, because they low fees I receive from the local paper has

been used as an argument against me from other papers, when I've charged them

more normal fees.

My question is this: Do you agree with my friend that I should insist on my

minimum fee of $1000? And just say no if they still insist on $300? Is there a

chance that this will come back to bite me in the ass later?

I would really like to get an opinion on this from people who are more

experienced in this game than I am.

Best wishes

Hogne

...or you could ask for a $300.00 check for each time the television ad aired (and a equal amount in each country) if more than one area is to be used for advertising. That would make the $1,000.00 price a bargain for the ad agenecy.

Thanks for your responses.

@Art: I've checked, and the person who contacted me does indeed work at the agency in question, so it's not a scam as such. However, I do get a feeling that they're trying to scam flickr users with a very small fee :)

@Ellis: My contract with the model is ok. She will get 10% of any fee I receive for the photos.

@Gerald: That's exactly what my friend said :)

Once again, thanks for your replies.