NX2 or Adobe Photoshop??

bjorn_burton

<p>Im new to the SLR photography and just bought a D90 with 18-105mm and 70-300mm vr lenses.... My question is im what program would i need or would be sufficiant enough for me? I mainly want to edit photos but nothing to crazy make them look more professional through a program. What programs do you guys recommend should i get Nikons program or should i get Adobe Photoshop CS4 now do i need of C24 because its extremely expensive or would something like the essentials be good enough for just photography? Thanx for the help in advance!</p>

<p>How about Adobe LightRoom? Keep in mind that LightRoom 3 beta is already available. If you buy 2 now, you'll may need to upgrade and pay again soon.</p>

<p>PhotoShop, LightRoom, and NX2 are all avaialble for a 30-day trial. You might as well download the trial and determine for yourself. Personally I am not crazy about Nikon's software, and PhotoShop is overly complicated for casual users. That is why I think LightRoom is a good option. You can start with the LightRoom 3 beta and use that for free as long as the beta lasts.</p>

<p>But only you can decide what you prefer.</p>

<p>The intermediate Adobe program called 'Lightroom' is very popular and as far as I have seen provides great functionality both in workflow/archiving and most common editing functions. Its one you will probably be told a lot to consider in response to your question and from what I've seen I agree that it may suit your needs well.</p>

<p>Personally I use the Nikon/Nik Software tools including NX2 and really like them.</p>

<p>One strong suggestion is that both Lightroom and NX2 offer 30-day trial downloads. Why don't you spend a few days playing around in each, getting a feel for them, and make your decision at that point?</p>

<p>If you do not need to do a lot of larger frame printings on a good to expensive large format printer, there's no need for PS/CS4.</p>