Now what! (I have a Bronica SQ-A system in my hands)

greglyon

Hi again,

<p>

A couple months back I asked some questions regarding a friend's

Bronica SQ-A system. She wanted more than I was willing to spend so

I let it go. WELL, she found out what she could get for it at one of

the big new york companies and now she's offering it to me for $700...

<p>

Here's the kit:

<ul>

<li>1 body with prism finder

<li>1 body with waist level finder

<li>2 80mm lenses

<li>1 50mm lens

<li>1 150mm lens

<li>2 220 backs

<li>2 120 backs

<li>lens hoods for all

<li>a compendium lens hood with soft focus and special effect filters

(Tiffen maybe)

<li>A hand grip

<li>good UV filters on all lenses + 6 other filters

</ul>

<p>As a Medium Format Newbie I'm gonna start with the manual but What

do you suggest I do to see if this is for me? I intend to test this

format for landscapes and portraits. (I also shoot wildlife and

macro but they seem better suited to 35mm.)

<p>As a casual shooter, do I need 2 bodies? The thought occurs to me

to keep one of them and sell the other with the extra 80mm lens.

<p>Are there specific things to check out as I'm deciding whether to

buy this or not?

<p>Oh yeah, the lenses are S, not PS. Adorama rated her stuff

as 'excellent'. So, is this price fair? It seems so to me but I

don't exactly keep a close eye on this type of gear!

<p>As always, Thanks for your help!

First step. Run some film through it. Try something cheap. I've got a suggestion or two if you'd like.

Next, Are you going to lug around a 2nd body and backup lenses? If not, dump them.

As for the price being fair, if you're willing to pay it...

I just read my response, and it sounded a little dickish. I love MF, but am not familiar with Bronica.

If you've got the camera in your posession, the best thing that you can do is take pictures with it. You should know right away if you like it, if it is something that can grow on you (or you grow on it). Have fun.

Hello,