Northeast Ohio Photo Locations

larry_hensley1

I live in Columbus and can't give you any great specific locations for general nature photography, but Cleveland's Metropark system is excellent and any of them should have great opportunities throughout the year as should the Cuyahoga Valley Recreation Area. I head up to the lake often for birding. The winter offers interesting opportunities to photograph a good variety of gulls along the lakefront from Conneaut all the way to Huron. For spring passerines, Headlands Beach near Mentor is probably the best spot in NE Ohio. In spring it's definitely worth heading to NW Ohio to the Ottawa NWR/Crane Creek area.

I've been shooting in the Cleveland area for a couple of years now. In the area: The Cleveland Metropark's North Chagrin reservation, especially Sanctuary Marsh, has been very good for birds for me; there's a blue heron there every year during the summer. If you don't mind shooting controlled animals, the Lake County metroparks has their wildlife rehabilitation center in Kirtland. The Cuyahoga Valley has many good spots; there is a Blue Heron rookery on Bath road, and the Beaver Pond is an excellent site for many different birds...and beavers, too, if you're lucky. For landscape oriented pictures, the Lake Erie shoreline has many opportunites. The Cuyahoga Valley is also very nice for lanscape shots. Brandywine Falls comes to mind in particular.

<p>

I'd look for the 'watchable wildlife' book for Ohio. It lists a lot of good sites in the area. (I'm typing this off the top of my head, so I'm sure I'm forgetting a lot of places.) As you can tell, I'm into bird photography; for that, I would also recommend the 'Birds of NE Ohio' pamphlet - available at the Cuyahoga Valley Recreation Area's book store. It lists a lot of good sites for birding, and nature in general.

After reading your second request all I have to say is go out, explore, and find your places. Ohio offers a lot of opportunities.

<p>