No Mac seems a good choice for photography

<p>I've been using Macs for photo work for the last 10 years or so, which I do mostly with Lightroom, along with occasional use of Photoshop and Topaz plugins. Now it's time to replace my 6-year-old iMac, but none of the current Macs seems like a good choice. (I'm considering a computer only for photography, not games, writing, accounting, or any other use. And integration with my iPhone is of no interest to me.)</p>

<p>There are four types of Macs: notebooks, all-in-ones, minis, and Mac Pros. Notebooks don't have a large enough screen, and Mac Pros are overkill for what I need. Mac Minis are twice as expensive as equivalent Windows computers. (Look not at base prices, but ones with an Intel Core i7 and 16GB of RAM.) That leaves iMacs, but the problem with them is that I'm tired of replacing the whole computer when only the processor needs upgrading. I suppose I could get a MacBook Pro with a separate monitor, but that's a very expensive way to go, and the combination takes up too much space on my desk.</p>

<p>For photography, the choice of OS doesn't matter to me, because I spend nearly all my time in Lightroom and Photoshop, and they run identically on both platforms. (I'm a software developer, and use Windows, OS X, and Linux for that, so all of those OSes are familiar. I have about seven computers that I use for different purposes.)</p>

<p>Any other photographers steering away from Macs because none seems suitable and appropriately priced?</p>

<p><strong>Appendix: Intel NUC vs. Mac Mini</strong></p>

<p>Here's why I say a Mac Mini costs twice as much as a Windows computer. The following costs me $657 at Amazon:</p>

<ul>

<li>Intel NUC5i7RYH with 5th Generation Core i7-5557U (WiFi included)</li>

<li>16GB RAM (Crucial DDR3-1600 MT/s)</li>

<li>1TB hard drive (HGST Travelstar 7K1000 2.5-Inch 1TB 7200 RPM SATA III 32MB Cache)</li>

<li>Windows 10 Home</li>

</ul>