Nikon Z7 Auto Focus Guide

ShunCheung

Not sure how many Nikon Z mirrorless users are among us. It looks like Nikon came up with this guide back in November (2018):

https://cdn-4.nikon-cdn.com/e/Q5NM96RZZo-RRZZFeeMiveET0gVQ--AxJI7g-xcLVNVcp7mZwZQo0f6fAd8yUoQG/Misc/Z7-Autofocus-Guide.pdf

The title is Z7 AF Guide, but I think it also applies to the Z6 as well. It has some good suggestions and also some comparison against the D850.

I have had the Z6 for a month now, but I am still learning the new features.

• Like 1

Mike, for a while I used Dynamic Area AF on the Z6, but I think the problem is that the birds I was photographing at that time were too small, too far away from the camera, and I was getting disappointing results. Recently I tried Auto Area AF, and that seems to work ok too when the bird occupies a larger area inside the frame. I really would rather not to draw any conclusions, until I have plenty of experience with the Z6. However, I am pretty sure that for wildlife action, the top-of-the-line DSLRs is still the way to go at this point.

From what I've read, in reviews of the Z cameras, there seem to be no clear "nearest subject priority" AF area modes. In Multi-CAM 20k DSLRs, the group-area AF in continuous focusing mode prioritises the nearest subject (within the group "diamond") and the auto-area AF also seems to do so, but within the whole sensor array. When the subject is far away, I've found both group area and auto area effective in focusing on the moving subject even against complex background. When the subject is near, group is often not precise enough, in which case I use 9- or 25-point dynamic area. Auto-area AF sometimes gets a near subject right, sometimes not; if I stop down to f/4, then it works quite well even in the near to mid range.