Nikon Wedding Photographer Kit List

rob_shooter

Hi,

I've been a keen amateur photographer for 20 years. For the past 3 or 4 using

Nikon D70 and D80 kit, prior to that Bronica MF.

There is a chance in the coming months I will be made redundant from my current

job as an IT manager and I'm considering putting some of any redundancy package

into a kit where I could start up a wedding photography business alongside any

new job I get, then as I become more proficient and business picks up over time

I would look to move full time into the wedding photography business.

I know its an extremely competitive market but the area where I live in the UK

does not have very many local photographers so there may be a good opening in

the short to medium term.

Anyway, to cut to the chase, here is a Nikon kit list I'm considering, are

there any thoughts, addiditons anyone would recommend? I would use D300 as

primary with D80 as backup (or would a second D300 or D200 make sense?).

D300 Body

D80 Body

50mm 1.8

17-55mm

70-200mm

85mm 1.4

3 x SB800 FLASH

FLASH BRACKETS

MEM CARDS

BATTERY GRIP

BROLLIES AND REFLECTORS

INSURANCE, TRAINING COURSES, GOOD BOOKS TO LEARN FROM ETC

Many thanks in advance

Personally, I'd rather have a second D200 or D300 as a backup. Far more versatile in the crush of an ongoing event. Too many functional differences between those bodies and the D80 to make it as mentally easy to switch between them. Oh... don't forget a good tripod and head, and the all-important waist-pack and/or other bag rig for what you'll be carrying. I'm a ThinkTank fan, but those are very personal ergonomic decisions.

Also, be sure to budget for the creation, maintenance, and ongoing hosting of a first-class web site.

Another issue with the D80 is a completely different memory card compared to the D300.

You would need two complete sets of cards - one set of CF cards for the D300 and one set of SD cards for the D80.