Nikon V1 for occasional press work?

<p>Professionally, I'm a writer and broadcaster - not a photographer. But occasionally I find myself with a client in a situation where a camera would be handy. Last night, for example, a client invited me to cover an event featuring a Corporate Very Big Cheese and they had forgotten to book a professional photographer. Had I had a camera of sufficient quality with me, I could have helped.<br>

I am also a hobbyist with a D7000, a bag of lenses, and just enough knowledge to get myself into trouble at the kind of event I've just described. But I'm not going to carry around a big bag of DSLR gear on the off-chance that a client needs a favour. Rule No. 1 - hire a professional.<br>

But something smaller for an emergency? Perhaps. And if that something smaller also took the bigger camera off my back when walking or on holiday...hmmm, interesting. And if that something smaller could, on occasion, even take something like my 300mm f4...well, that could be a real proposition.<br>

So after a long preamble, has anyone had any experience using a V1 under press or semi-press conditions? In-house PR or magazine work, maybe? Is the quality acceptable for the kind of emergency I've described?<br>

(And yes, I know that most quality issues derive from the monkey behind the lens!)<br>

And if it's a yes, it'll do fine, which lens?<br>

Comments, thoughts, alternative suggestions - all gratefully received.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Hi Chris, <br>

I've never even handled a V1, but I've shot a ton of pictures for the press (mostly small papers). <br>

I would say, a V1 is perfectly fine for occasional press-work, just like good P&S-cameras<br>

(a lot of professional writers I know carry a Canon Gxx or a Nikon P7000 or something similar) or very old DSLRs like a Nikon D1.<br>

And pictures of extraordinary „events” like spectacular crashes and so on will be printed regardless if taken with the lastet Nikon-pro-gear or an old cellphone.<br>