Nikon sRAW--what is wrong with it?

kurt_story1

<p>Over the past week, I have been reading up on the Nikon sRAW format. I have seen a lot of discussion denouncing the sRAW format as not "true RAW" or a "glorified JPEG", <a href="http://www.rawdigger.com/howtouse/nikon-small-raw-internals">citing this article</a> as evidence. Even with my background in digital imaging and multimedia, there are details in that article which go clear over my head, such as encoding color data YCbCr vs RGB. I'm not a computer scientist; I won't dispute that which I don't understand.<br>

<br /> Yet--over my career, I have spent a lot of time on print and multimedia projects, which included ensuring that images were optimized to their output, whether to print or the Web. So I know how to tell if an image is blown out, noisy from high ISO or compression, or has a compromised gamut.<br>

<br /> Rather than simply conclude that sRAW would give me poor results, I decided to compare output from a D4, linked below. In my analysis, I compared a 12-bit full-size RAW against a 12-bit sRAW file. I then opened each file in ACR and modified numerous parameters (but in equal amounts for each file). Finally, the files were studied in Photoshop in the 16-bit LAB color space, where I compared the histogram, gamut, and color data between files--rather than simply trusting my eyes. After 4+ hours of studying these images, I could not <em>find</em> any proof that the sRAW either had less color or tonal data than the 12-bit full RAW, or responded differently to adjustments in ACR. Judging by the sRAW file’s response in ACR and the color/tone numbers, it appears to be <em>very similar</em> to RAW, albeit smaller size—the one difference I saw.<br>