Nikon Shuttering Their Authorized Repair Program

pcassity

I have been using Nikon cameras since 1977. In 42 years, I think I can count on both hands the number of times I need repair, including a few times I dropped a camera or a lens. However, between 2018 and 2019, I have used Nikon repair in Los Angeles three times. Each time they did a fine job, but frequently there is a parts hold so that its takes a couple of weeks. Some of you may recall that I dropped my 200-500mm zoom last year. This year my D5 fell onto the ground due to a poorly design tripod foot on the 500mm PF lens. Most recently my 28-70mm/f2.8 AF-S fried my FTZ adapter on my Z6. That FTZ was under warranty and Nikon fixed it for free. In that occasion I had to call Nikon's 800 number and their service was very good too. Edited by ShunCheung
  • Like 1

My experiences with Authorized Photo Service in Morton Grove have been very good. They did great work, were timely, and the cost was reasonable. Only complaint I have is it is too far for me to drive there these days, as I've moved considerably further away.

Ouch! What happened?

Is it a known issue or an unfortunate one-off?

First of all, it was not anyone who participated on the following thread's fault:

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 28-70 2.8 ED vs Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70 ED

But during that discussion back in October, I decided to mount my old 28-70mm/f2.8 AF-S on my Z6 via the FTZ adapter. That old lens immediately fried the electronics inside the FTZ. Afterwards, I did some search and apparently some old AF-S lenses may fry the electronics inside the FTZ, and the 28-70mm/f2.8 AF-S is prone to cause that issue. When that happens, the lens should be fixed also. Apparently some guy mounted such lens onto multiple FTZ at a camera store and damaged them all one by one.