Nikon SB 7 Flash - How to

nickbaker

Hi guys,

I wanted to know if anyone has had experience with the SB 7 (or similar flash) It's my first time using a flash on my Nikon f2 and struggling to really understand the basics of it.

I've had read the manual, and whilst i understand there are 2 automatic modes & 1 manual, i can't seem to wrap my head around it. For instance, I understand that if I select one of the auto modes, and set my setting's according to the ASA dial then my exposure should be correct - but how can this be when the flash doesn't know how much ambient in the room and therefore to correctly expose?

If I set to the blue setting, let say in this example 100 ASA and at F8 - does this mean the flash will cover from 0.6 - 3M?

If the red setting (ASA 100 at F4) does this cover everything from 7 - 20M?

In what instance would I use manual?

I'm assuming I'm missing some basic photography principles here, but any resources that someone could point me too would be super helpful.

Thanks again,

but how can this be when the flash doesn't know how much ambient in the room

From a distant past memory, most of these 'basic' auto flash guns have a small light sensor just above the Hot Shoe (just to the right of N in Nikon) mount pointing towards the target.

The flash fires at pretty much full wack, but when the sensor sees 'enough' light returned to satisfy the settings you've, err, set, it dumps the rest of the charge to a buffer.

Edited by mike_halliwell