Nikon Lens vs. Sigma Lens

angela_heine

Hi.

I have been debating for weeks on if to purchase the Nikon 200mm f/4.0 IF

Micro-Nikkor AI-S Manual Focus Lens or to get the Sigma 180mm f/3.5 EX IF HSM

Macro Lens. I figure the Nikon is a better lens, but the price is such a big

difference that I am trying to find out if the quality of the picture would

really matter much with either lens or if both would produce close to the same

quality picture. I am an amateur and have started focusing on taking pictures of

Insects. I have the Nikon AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 1:2.8, but want to be able to get

further away when it is an easily scared insect.

Thank you so much,

Angela

Angela, You do not say what camera you use? The AIS Nikon is not well regarded for use with DSLR's. This means the lens is not expensive to purchase though. They sell for around $300.00 on the big auction site, which is less than the AF Sigma.

The Nikon 200mm AF is a different animal though, it is universally well regarded but comes with a hefty price tag, if you can afford one this should be your top choice. The Tamron 180mm AF has many admirers and I would advise as your second choice. The Sigma would be in third position in my pecking order.

Angela, I know you don't want to scare away the little buggies but consider that long macros like this have a minimum focusing distance of about 18 inches. And as said, they come at a hefty price.

Not trying to talk you out of anything but another option is the Nikon 105VR micro. It is faster than the 200, smaller, lighter, has VR, and focuses at about 12 inches. It is also about $600 less than the 200 and even less expensive than the Sigma 180.

If you really want the distance, the Nikon 200 is mighty pricy and a bit bulky without a tripod but you sure can't go wrong with it.

Hi Angela, I have not used the Sigma 180/3.5 but I have used the AiS 200/4 micro.