Nikon introduces the new D5200 DSLR today

CvhKaar

<blockquote>

<p>Good addition, but not for semi-pro or serious amateurs</p>

</blockquote>

<p>And why not? Light, small, competent... might make an excellent backup body; for serious amateurs, it does not look like a camera that will hold you back a whole lot (except for the viewfinder and AF-S-only restriction maybe, the size/weight is a personal preference more).<br>

Puzzling release though: it moves the D5200 up quite a bit in competence; what does that say about a possible D7100? And that will affect for sure whether that D400 will ever see the light of day or not. Time will tell, but I have to say the specs of this one surprise me quite a bit.</p>

<p>£719 body only and £819 with the usual 18-55mm. </p>

<p>It's pretty much a higher-res D7000 but with only AF-S lens capability.</p>

<p><strong>"...but not for semi-pro or serious amateurs..." </strong>Who then, complete beginners? That price tag is a little high for that market....what does that equate to, about $1200??</p>

<p>It also puts the D3200 in an odd place.</p>

<p>Maurice, with them moving the D5200 this far upmarket in capabilities, I believe that the D7100 could add enough features that it makes the need for a D400 redundant. Give the D7100 the 51-point AF, and a better buffer, and voila, no need for a D400! That would seem to go in line with Nikon's numbering scheme anyway. As I said in another thread, they just need to look at the a77 and make sure that the D7100 competes favorably with it.</p>