Nikon FE2 (£150) vs FM3A (£210)

dean_jiang

<p>Hi, I'm interested in buying a 35mm camera and I finally located two deals (second-hand camera):</p>

<p>1. Nikon FE2 with 50mm 1.8 lens (£150)<br>

2. Nikon FM3A with 50 mm nikkor lens (£210)</p>

<p>I am new to photograph and want to own a Nikon camera, what will you buy if you were me?</p>

<p>Cheers,</p>

<p>Dean</p>

<p>FM3a is the last of the Nikon manual focus camera's. It's newer then the FE2 and of course it has the interested thing of being a hybrid camera. It's an electronic camera or a manual camera independent of batteries. The FE2 is/was a great camera also. The electronics are getting up there in years. I would defineately buy the FM3A first. </p>

<p>That's not so much of a difference, all things considered. I'd take the FM3A - it's the newer model, combines good parts from the FE2 and the FM2, and it's definitely got to be considered one of the best manual cameras out there. I'd get one myself if I didn't already have more cameras than I know what to do with and an unhealthy fascination with Rokkor glass.</p>

<p>

Any particular reason for choosing Nikon? Anyway, sticking with Nikon, my choices would be something

like:

<ul>

<li>For a camera to sell on, the FM3A.</li>

<li>For a user film camera, an F3 or F100 (depending on preference for manual- or autofocus).</li>

<li>For a camera for someone new to photography, an entry-level digital camera - probably an SLR, but

not absolutely necessarily. That instant feedback is a wonderful teaching tool.</li>

</ul>

</p>

<p>You should be able to find an 8008s for much less than an FE2. Autowind, autorewind, auto DX coding, 1/250 synch, TTL flash metering, and a spot meter. Runs on AA batteries. If you insist [and if you can find one], you can use the microprism screen intended for the 8008 [no 's'] but then you lose the spot meter. Having used both the FE2 and the 8008s in my mind the 8008s is the clear winner.</p>