Nikon FE shutter stuck, mirror won't come down.

pablo_emilio_lafon

Pablo I repair cameras for a living. The stuck mirror situation is quite common. Usual cause is the dampening foam strip along the edge of the viewing screening turning into a gooey mess and quite sticky. With a toothpick gently try and pry the mirror from the viewing screen in the pentaprism. If it does not release immediately, stop! The mirrior is very delicate and the return mechanism on the mirror box is likewise. Lastly take the batteries out for a minute. Then re-insert carefully. The mirror/shutter should release. Failing this is is time to visit the nikon repair centre.

Are you able to move the film advance lever? Something that can happen to this style of camera is that things can get thrown out of sync, resulting in the conditions you describe.

When it happened to me, the guy that fixed it for me showed me what he did in case it ever happened again. Since the film advance lever wouldn't swing out in a normal film advance move, he removed the bottom plate of the camera. There was a "lever" of sorts engaging a toothed cog at the bottom of the film rewind mechanism. He moved it out of the way, cocked the shutter and everything was fine again. If your film advance lever won't move, this may be what's going on.

• 1 year later...

Hi Folks,

I had the same problem with my FG and by moving shutter speed dial to M90 it released the mirror which I cleaned and evidently the FG needs good batteries to release the mirror from all other speeds. Camera is working just fine now so thanks to all who posted possible solutions to sticking mirror problems...Ron

• 5 months later...

Hi, and thanks to Eric Sande,

removing the bottom plate and pulling just marginally with very little force, pulled the stuck

tooth out of the way of the cog on the film advance capstan with a fine pair of forcepts (you

can tell it is the capstan as it has the tongue and groove for the MD12 motor drive facing you