Nikon FE or FE2?

ying_yin_chew

<p>Hi! Am in a difficult situation! Dont know which to get - the FE or FE2? I am a beginner to SLR cameras, and usually use a camera for portrait shots, landscape shots and shots of moving objects. The FE is offered cheaper than the FE2. Am concerned about price as well.<br>

FE comes with a MD-11, 50mm f/1.8 Ai and UV filter. The FE2 comes with Nikkor 50mm/f1.4 AIS, Kenko CPL, UV filter, 2 bnw films, extra batteries and strap.<br>

Please help! Thank you (:</p>

<p>I have an FE2; it's an excellent camera. The FE2 has two main advantages over the FE. Firstly it can do TTL flash which is nice to have. Secondly it has a much higher sync. speed which makes using flash in daylight easier. The shutter goes up to 1/4000 second rather than 1/1000 as well but I've never used such speeds anyway and doubt that many people have.</p>

<p>The FE has the advantage of being able to use old Nikon pre-AI lenses but if you don't actually have any of these that probably doesn't matter much; there are plenty of AI and AIS lenses around and either are completely usable on either camera.</p>

<p>If you wear glasses do make sure you can see all the viewfinder field. Now I've changed back to glasses from contact lenses I can't see all the viewfinder field and it's a real problem to me.</p>

<p>Personally I wouldn't put much value on an MD-11 motor drive; they are very heavy and not all that fast anyway. If you want a motor you'd probably do better to buy a newer camera with a built-in motor.</p>

<p>If you can run to it I'd go for the FE2; the f/1.4 lens would be nice to have and the camera will be newer as well, though of course that doesn't tell you anything about how well it's been looked after!</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Hi Ying Yin:<br>

I have both cameras, I have been using them for five years, and they are very similar and have the same quality level. But I must say that I prefer the FE for three reasons:<br>