Nikon d90 or d7000 at this moment?

tr__ng_vinh_nghia

<p>Hello everyone. I am new to dslr. I am shooting film photography with my old slr nikon fg20 for years. So i am new to dslr but not to photography. I'm considering buying a dslr camera and i did some research that lead me to choose between the 2 models d90 and d7000. I have for around 750$. In my country (vietnam), a used d90 (3000 - 5000 clicks) costs 475$ and a used d7000 (7000 - 10000 clicks) costs 600$. I know these shutter actuations dont really matter at all. so should i go for d90 and save money for more lenses? or should i buy the d7000 for the long run and stick with just a kit lens (18-70?), and buy more after. In my city (hanoi), a 18-70 kit lens costs for around 150$. i only own 2 old mf lenses that i still use with my old slr. i do not own any af lens. I'll use my dslr for travelling and taking landscape photos most of the time. you guys can call me Vinny instead(sorry for my english)</p>

<p>Which MF lenses do you have with your FG20? One big advantage the D7000 has is the fact that it can meter with Ai and AiS lenses, the D90 cannot. So probably your old MF lenses should be completely fine on the D7000 (though there is the "crop factor"). Some of the old lenses are still very credible performers on DSLRs.<br>

And I wouldn't be too fast saying the D7000 isn't worth the extra money. It depends a lot on what kind of photography you do. The D7000 was, in my opinion, a serious step up from the D90 (and in ways, more than the D7100 is over the D7000) - but for specific tasks. The D7000 is one stop better at high ISO, has a faster and better AF system, much better video. For landscape, not a big difference, I admit, but as an allrounder, the D7000 trumps the D90 easily. If you're looking to do more, different, styles of photography, the D7000 has more depth.<br>