Nikon D800E shallow depth of field problem

wademonahan

Hi everyone, I'm a photographer with 20 years of experience shooting film with nothing but Nikon cameras. I recently decided to invest in a digital camera and settled on the Nikon D800E due to its high resolution, the sharpness of the images it produces and, most importantly, because that's all I can afford right now.

I have taken it out for a few rounds of shoots and have been experiencing a very odd and frustrating problem with the depth of field being too shallow, even at f/22 and it's driving me crazy. I'm attaching a few examples (all crops at 100%) with relevant information to illustrate the issue. The lenses I am using are a Nikkor 28mm f/2.8 AI-s and a Voigtländer 40mm f/2.0 Ultron SL II-S.

Am I missing something? Has anyone encountered such an issue? Or have any clue as to why this is happening? Did I just get a dud and should I return it to the seller? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

873546448_ScreenShot2020-08-29at6_16_39PM.thumb.png.a84f8b4647adde86a4e0c8ea18242519.png

Voigtländer 40mm, f/16, 1/60, ISO 6400

1547272736_ScreenShot2020-08-29at6_21_28PM.thumb.png.277273c2c791953fd5b4e0218448c5c6.png

Nikkor 28mm, f/22, 1/60 shutter speed, ISO 100

1685177849_ScreenShot2020-08-29at6_24_23PM.thumb.png.f32a2b55f4d93387c40ae312f2f698de.png

Voigtländer 40mm, f/22, 1/60 shutter speed, ISO 100

350198047_ScreenShot2020-08-29at6_49_58PM.thumb.png.c1e856a2b07533597ca9a37d76ed5b31.png

Voigtländer 40mm, f/13, 1/100 shutter speed, ISO 100

You are focused on a fence which is close to the lens, and find the background is out of focus. I have not only encountered this phenomena, but rely on it to separate the subject from its background. Furthermore, depth of field is not an absolute thing, and decreases when parts of the image are magnified.

I agree with what all the others are saying.