NIKON D80 1987(ISH) LOGIC AND MIRROR PROBLEM

steve_white16

<p>Hi All,<br>

My first post on this site, so I am hoping you will be able to help me please. I am an enthusiastic amateur who progressed to my first DSLR from 30 years of 35mm (Zenit E, Canon A1 and Pentax D50) to my lovely Nikon D80. I bought it in Australia in 2007 and it has been around the world, working quite hard (10000+ shots.)<br>

This weekend at the first of 2 weddings, the screen stopped displaying. The 'shutter' sound (mirror lift) was heard like normal but after the display started to remain blank, I subsequently noted not images saved. I then noticed that the menu screen (top right) was displaying information regardless of the camera being switched on or off. Full functionality came back intermittently and then the camera ceased to function. On arrriving home I removed the battery (which was showing about 75% full) and left the camera overnight without the battery in. I charged both the main and my spare battery and in the morning, on reloading the camera, all worked fine.<br>

Day 2, Wedding 2 (my daughter's) the camera performed beautifully, taking 483 shots and working very well with my Speedlight.<br>

I got home today and on downloading I noticed some blotches. Obviously some dust. I opened the camera and with a full battery (iaw the instructions) selected mirror lock up successfully. I used my blower to blow through and switched the camera off, thus lowering the mirror as instructed.<br>

Now, when I switch on, there is an E showing on the menu screen and in the viewfinder a new icon flashing; it is a square with a slant line and up arrow, suggesting mirror up problem.<br>

In view of the problems shown above I guess the advice I will receive is to send it back to Nikon for them to look at and quote a price.<br>

My question is: has anyone out there experienced anything similar please and, if so, what did you do about it?<br>