Nikon D750 user - new to video, questions re mic's, motor noise, pause

john_cataneo

Hello all,

Hoping you are healthy and well. I'm new to video and trying to shoot some YouTube cooking videos for a friend. My first foray into this was full of autofocus motor noise and I don't see the camera having the ability to pause recording.

My questions are: I think I should be using a hot-shoe mounted mic, Can you recommend one? It seems Rodes is most popular but there seem to be many lower cost options. To complicate matters, I will be engaging in some dialogue with the subject so I don't think a shotgun mike will pick both our voices up equally. Again, looking for advice and options.

Do I have the ability to pause recording or must I make different clips and figure out how to splice them together later?

Many thanks,

John

In my brief and limited experience, if you can possibly edit later and then do a voice track, you'll get a better result. Part of that is the ability to redo the dialog until you get it right. The problem with a cooking video is you probably want the speaker speaking directly to the viewer while cooking. If you want to interact, I'd thing about two mics and a small mixer. However you do it, a good external mic will be way better. Position it in the best spot, which isn't always/usually on the camera. If you do the sound later, you can have the mic in an optimal position. I have various ways to record sound, and various mics to do it with, but most of the time I use a little Tascam DR-05 recorder. Very good sound quality and easy to use. Then I download the files and drag them to the editor. It also has a direct line out that can probably plug into the camera, but I haven't tried it that way.