Nikon D750 problem- shutter or mirror problem??

clarebelden

Hello all,

I recently purchased a new Nikon D750 about two months ago. I have been loving it so far and it has been taking lovely photos. I am quite new to full frames and still need to learn a lot!

I am currently in Indonesia doing research and obviously brought my camera. It has been working very well with no problems, but yesterday I went to take a photo and first it would not autofocus on any mode. When switched to manual, it would take the picture but the result was the image attached...

I tried taking the lens off and taking a picture that way to see if it was the lens or the body and the results were the same. I cannot find anything similar online and am worried something has happened to it because of the humidity here?? It has been protected in a bag the whole time when im not taking pictures with it, but the humidity here is so high im not sure if that matters? Has anyone else had this/seen this problem and knows what it is? If so, is there a way to fix it myself or is it something that will have to be done by Nikon?

I did try to take the battery out, reset all settings, etc. and still no change.

Thanks!!

unnamed.thumb.jpg.338e71e7f9336b6a7cf408a8c5f907d5.jpg

I have sometimes similar problems when I bring it too quick out of a cold airconditioned room. You have to dry it first and then see what happens. You can use a dry cabinet or keep it in a dry airconditioned room for a couple of hours.

Okay I will try the air conditioned room as I don't have a dry cabinet here and see what happens! Thanks!!

Humidity is possible. Sanity check: both the lens (any switch) and the camera (switch on the lens mount) are set to autofocus? Nobody's put it in rear-button autofocus while you weren't looking? If it's an AF-S (or AF-P) lens, it might also be worth cleaning the lens contacts, since they sometimes get slightly corroded.

Good luck!