santharam

Hello,

Greetings.

Camera Settings:

Aperture priority mode

Auto focus mode (AF-S)

Remote Control Mode (ML-L3) ->Quick-response remote

View finder photography

I am new to photography and trying to understand the functionality of remote operated camera by experimenting with various combinations of camera modes, focus modes, shutter release modes and shutter/back button focusing. I did all this experimentation in my study room with sufficient diffused window light. There was ample gap between each click and the remote was just a few inches away from the camera. D7200 has both front and back sensors.

I tried to operate my Nikon D7200 with ML-L3 with the above settings. After a few shots I realized all of them, except the first few, were out of focus. I tried to recollect and reenact the sequence of steps followed in taking those pictures.

Initial few shots were taken with camera automatically focusing/refocusing on subject(s) with every remote controller click. Then I tried to take a shot focusing on the subject by manually half pressing shutter release button (or pressing back focus button). The "subject in focus" indicator remained ON even after releasing the finger, the camera refused to refocus automatically for next shots and all those pictures were out of focus. Remote control mode + AF-S mode + viewfinder photography + pressing shutter release button half or back focus button - is locking the focus.

This particular issue arises only in viewfinder photography in AF-S mode with shutter release button or back button focus. It does not occur in AF-C mode or live view photography. Both the camera and the remote are new, working fine in all other scenarios/combinations.

The sequence of steps:

1. Aim camera at a subject (viewfinder photography with camera set to remote control mode(ML-L3) ->Quick-response remote)

2. Half press shutter release button or press back focus button, if enabled, to focus on the subject