Nikon D700 shooting very low light

<p>Has anyone had any experience shooting with the new D700 from Nikon in very low light situations?</p>

<p>I purchased a D700 because I shoot live dance performances and cannot use flash. I usually shoot shutter priority 400. I am experiencing VERY inconsistent exposures. It is not changes in the stage lighting. Sometime it happens in a burst of 4 or 5 shots, but not always. They either become very overexposed or underexposed. Then it may shoot 5-10 shots in a row nearly black. </p>

<p>I have talked with several people, including Nikon and gone over my settings. It is not making sense to me why the exposures are different when the lighting has not changed? And this camera is made to shoot 6? frames p/second, since I am an old film photographer I still wait for the right shot and take them "one at a time" most of the time. I have better luck shooting with my D80.</p>

<p>Any ideas? Your help would be greatly appreciated as I primarily shoot in these conditions and regularly. </p>

<p>Cindi</p>

<p>I don't know about the matrix meter. Sometimes, especially point and shoots (**runs away screaming**) have spotlight modes (I don't know why since they don't shoot well over ASA 200). I always used manual exposure with my D50 just because a lot of the stage can be dark and you can get some crazy settings. I would go manual and use the digital "check the colors on the screen" method of exposure compensation. When the faces get clipped, pull it back. Is 1/400 overkill? I would use 1/125 and get the ASA as low as I could or the lens to a sharper aperture. You could try switching to the spot meter and using that as a reference point.</p>

<p>Shoot manual set for spotlighted performer. The exposure does not change in most perfarmances, but the light and dark areas move all over the place. Incamera meters place different weight on the bright area depending on where it is located in the frame.<br>