Nikon D700, Full Frame & Lenses

Sage7

<p>Hello,</p>

<p>I have a burning question concerning the full frame Nikon D700 I just bought and it's full frame capability and lenses. Please be patient an break down your answers to Sesame Street Simple being that I'm still learning about photography and how to use all of the functions on my camera.</p>

<p>I traded in my Nikon D200 & Nikon D300 for a Nikon D700.</p>

<p>I have the following lenses:<br>

1. AF-S Nikkor 18-200mm 1.3.5-5.6 G ED DX<br>

2. AF Nikkor 50mm 1:1.8D<br>

3. Sigma 170-500mm 1:5-6.3 APO DG</p>

<p>As I was trading in the camera I was told that the lenses that I have would only produce a 6.1 megapixel image and that the images would be cropped. Also, it was explained to me that the reasoning behind this is because the D200/D300 have what was referred to slangly as a "half sensor" and that the D700 has a "full sensor." Furthermore, because the camera can sense that the lenses weren't designed for the full sensor that the camera would default the images to 6.1 megapixels and the image would be cropped.</p>

<p>Could someone please explain to me the truth behind this & how this works? Thanks for your time and I'll be looking forward to your replies.</p>

<p>All the Best!</p>

<p>~ Joseph.</p>

<p>Joseph<br>

Why didn't you ask the question before you did the deal ? it seems to me you were sold a bill of goods, what exactly about the D300 and D200 did not meet your requirements? You now have traded two perfectly good cameras and lenses for 1 camera and effectively just 1 lens and the gobbleydook you are spouting makes makes no sense buddy .<br>

The D700 has what is known as a full frame sensor that is the size of a 35mm film frame while the D200 and the D300 have a DX sensor the size of an aps film frame which is smaller.<br>