NIKON D70

kacy_cierley

I am a photography student, and I just got my D70 yesterday. I am

very excited! I havent had any time to fiddle with it yet but I do

have some questions.

**I've read that only two flashes are compatible-- Nikon SB-600/800.

Is this true? I have a Vivitar 285HV, would this work? I am planning

on getting a SB-800 but I dont have the money right now.

**I am going to be working with a wedding photographer, assisting

weddings starting in September, I have the lens (28-70) that the

camera came with, should I try to save up and purchase a 28-300? Is

that the best option for weddings?

**What about battery life & memory? What's the best route for that?

My instructor told me I should go with XD-Picture cards instead of

memory cards.. is this true? Any one used an Image Tank? The

photography I'm going to be working with uses one. But my instructor

told me she has heard bad things about them? And also.. should I get

a few different batteries, or get a battery pack?

What am I going to get the most for my money, because like I said I

am a college student, with limited funds!!

Thanks,

Kacy

**I've read that only two flashes are compatible-- Nikon SB-600/800. Is this true? I have a Vivitar 285HV, would this work? I am planning on getting a SB-800 but I dont have the money right now.

Those are the only two that are fully TTL compatible, but for non-TTL use your Vivitar will function.

**I am going to be working with a wedding photographer, assisting weddings starting in September, I have the lens (28-70) that the camera came with, should I try to save up and purchase a 28-300? Is that the best option for weddings?

I'd ask the photographer you'll be working with. I certainly would not base my lens purchase on one small job. The 28-70 is a pretty versatile length for a single lens. I think I'd consider adding something either wider (i.e. 12-24mm or longer 70-200) if you want another lens.