Nikon D70 or D200 for Outdoor Fast Action Shots?

sj_s

Hello - I am preparing to purchase a Nikon DSLR for taking pictures at

horse events.

I need a camera with:

1. as little shutter-lag as possible,

2. that can focus on fast moving objects (close up and far away), and

3. fast shutter speed.

"Nice to have" features would include

1. Continuous Shooting, and

2. very high resolution.

I have been looking at the D70 all along... but now am considering a

higher model.

I don't anticipate enlarging beyond 8x10, but suppose that might change.

I am currently not a professional, but would like to work my way

there. I've been saving $$$ and currently have $1000. That was my

goal, and promised myself the D70 when I reached it, but now I'm

closer to the possibility of D200.

Anyone have any opinions or facts that would help me make this decision?

I currently have only the lenses I used with my film SLR. I want the

best camera for this specific job.

THANK YOU!!

You might want to pass on the D70 since I had one before and its pretty slow in focusing and only hits about 3 fps. I haven't tried out a D200 but it rated as 5 fps, just like my F100 is much better for sports and fast action. I suggest you might want to look a used D2h with the fastest focusing and up to 8 frames per second image rate. The newer D2hs is about $3300 but an original D2h in mint shape is selling for about $1200-1500. Granted is ONLY 4.2mb but it will do a nice 8x12 print.

Your consideration should involve lenses, not just the camera body. Do you already have some Nikon mount lenses for shooting horse events?

Your need of fast AF probably points you to the D200 instead of D70s. However, if you also need to buy new lenses, you need to work out the overall budget, including new lenses.