Nikon D70 - No External Flash Sync?

Discussion in 'Mirrorless Digital Cameras' started by mike king, Mar 8, 2004.

1. I'm new to portrait photography, and am shopping for a digital SLR. I was looking at the Nikon D70, but it appears that the specs state that it doesn't have an external flash sync? Does this mean I can only use a single flash in the hot shoe on top of the camera? I feel like I don't want to limit myself to that, since I'm interested in dviersifying my photography into areas such as portraits and weddings. /Mike

2. I took a look at the D70 specs and it appears that it does not have the flexibilty of using off camera flash or studio strobes.

3. ray

ray

You can buy a cheap Hotshoe-to-PC adapter that plugs into the hotshoe and gives you a PC connection for studio lights. You can pick up a cheap one at almost any pro store. B&H only has one expensive model but if you search for "hotshoe to pc adapter" you will find many out there. You don't have to buy a name brand either. They all work.

4. ray

ray

I took a look at the D70 specs and it appears that it does not have the flexibilty of using off camera flash or studio strobes.
    Not true. The iTTL pop-up flash can indeed control off camera flashes (like SB-600 or SB-800) wirelessly in TTL or you can always use the old-fashioned SC-17 (SC-29 now?) cables for off-camera flashes.
    As I mentioned in the above posting, a simple hotshoe-to-pc adapter allows use of studio strobe systems

5. I had the D70 in my hands two days ago. No external connection, so a hot shoe adapter is necessary. Fred