Nikon D70 Macro Setup Help Requested -- For Watch Photography

david.elliott

Hello,

First post on this forum. I am a beginner to the world of photography and am seeking some help in

putting together a macro setup on a budget of $500.

I did a quick search and it seems like this question has been asked several times before, but not

recently. I figured I would ask again in case new products can be incorporated into the setup. Hope

you dont mind.

Basically, I collect watches. I plan to mainly use the setup for watch photography, but may also

photograph plants, flowers, or small ornaments in the future. The goal will be to capture the dial work

of the watch as well as the movement via the exhibition back.

My camera is a Nikon D70 with the kit lens. I purchased it a couple years ago. I do not own a tripod,

lighting gear, external flash (or remote), etc. Just the D70 and kit lens.

At any rate, my budget is $500 max.

(1) A proper lens for macro photography (does not have to be Nikon - so long as it is compatible of

course!). The lens need not autofocus. I prefer manual focus.

(2) Tripod

(3) Lighting gear

(4) Any other equipment you deem necessary

---

For reference, in case it helps, here are some of my photos:

http://home.comcast.net/~david.elliott/LeLocle/

The "lightbox" consisted of several sheets of white paper and a single desk lamp. So, the lighting needs

some work. I used a stack of textbooks as my homemade tripod.

Side note: Comments on how to improve the photos are welcome and appreciated! The photos received

some work in Lightroom.

---

If you have any questions or need additional information, please let me know. Thank you.

-David

Your examples are pretty nice, considering your limitations on lens, lighting, etc.

A macro lens would make a difference.

Nikkor 60mm f/2.8, Tamron 90mm, Tokina AT-X 100mm f/2.8.

Problem is, to buy new you will need all of your $500 budget to purchase just the lens.