Nikon D50

I am considering the Nikon D50 (after months of shopping...) and I

am a little hesitant still because I am not a photography pro by any

means and wonder if this camera will be easy to use.

Should I forego a DSLR because I don't know enough about photography

and cameras. I am wanting to take a class but can't do that for a

few more months. I want to be able to pick up my camera and get a

shot if my kids are in the middle of a good photo op and am afraid

that with this buy I will be fiddling with conrtols and miss the

opportunity???

Thanks for any advice!

The D50 has lots of modes, some of which let you use it like a point and shoot camera. So it can be as instantly available as you want. Quicker than a point and shoot in fact because less shutter lag, and faster write time. On the other hand, it has manual modes, so when you get around to your class you won't feel you're outgrowing your camera. And it is capable of very high image quality. Less portable, though, if you want something that's with you all the time for those out of the blue moments.

I suppose the biggest question you need to answer is do you want to exchanges lenses. DSLR allows for quality lenses from 7mm to 600mm+. Some lenses are cheap, less than $100 to $10,000+. When I first bought my D70, I was surprised at the cost of lenses, so I got a two $100 and $150. I have replaced one and will replace the other soon, and I have gotten a few more. If you dont need to exchange lenses, then I would save your money and go with an all in one camera. There are many great ones out there. But if you want to get a little close, a little wider, etc, then you are out of luck. With a DSLR you can just spend more money and get another lens. As far as easy to use, it has an "auto" mode that does a real good job. I hoped I have helped and not hurt, Frank.