Nikon D3200 lens compatibility?

peter_mechels

Hello, I am a relatively new photographer. I took a photo class in high school, but we never talked much about SLR cameras. After a year

away from it I recently got back into photography and I bought a Nikon D3200 and I am in love with it! There is just one thing I have on my

mind now. Up until just recently I had this idea in my mind that any lens could be slapped on the end of a camera and it would work!

Obviously I was mistaken. Now here I am wondering what lenses i could get for my camera that are compatible with it, because I really

don't want to get a high quality lens and find out that it doesn't work with it.

I am in the market for a nice macro and telephoto lens.

Could anyone help a novice in need?

It needs to be a Nikon mount, so Nikon lenses (obviously), and then other brands like Sigma or Tamron will say in the description which

make they're for, i.e. Canon, Nikon, etc.

What type of photography are you interested in doing? It will help people in making suggestions.

I'm interested in macro photography, but other than that it just really depends on the day. It's more of a hobby for me, so I

don't think I could narrow it down to just one type of photography.

I know that is not the helpful answer but It would be a lie if i narrowed it down any further than that.

I just know so little about lenses that I really cannot choose it on my own, so any help at all would be appreciated.

Edit:

Currently I only have the AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm lens that came with the camera. It's nice for an all purpose but now I'm interested in something with a little more oomph if you know what I mean.

<p>Virtually all Nikon lenses will be compatible with this camera. But not all Nikon lenses will autofocus or meter on this body.</p>