Nikon D3100

alana_heyermans

<p>I am new to photography and really enjoy it. I currently use a Fujifilm fine pix S with 30x zoom. When i zoom pictures can come out blurry, no matter how focused. I am looking to upgrade, and am wondering how good this Nikon D3100 actually is. I want something that takes nice clear pictures, Nice macro , Nice coloring etc Within an affordable price (up to $800 aus) - so please let me know :) <br /><br /> Alana <br /><br /> Mooi Photography ,on FB. ( you can see on there what i mean when i say some photos come out blurry)</p>

<p>Alana, it's not as simple a question to answer as it may seem.<br>

Yes, the D3100 is superior in many ways to your Fuji, but certainly not all. To get the equivalent of that 30x zoom range that your Fuji has, you will end up with 2 or 3 seperate lenses on the Nikon and it's going to be more costly. On the other hand - you can get one lens at a time, and each single one will be able to deliver better quality. Through in special lenses or accessories for macro, and the price goes up further....<br>

By default, the D3100 comes with a 18-55 zoom, which is comparable to the widest angle on the Fuji, and then 3x zoom (so, yes, you'd loose a lot of "zooming power"). This is a very good lens to get started with, IF you can accept that you can zoom a lot less. Having less zoom is not necessarily a problem, unless you love to make photos of birds and wildlife.<br>

<br>

However, the problem of the blurring is more a problem of technique (=you) than it is of the camera. Upgrading the camera may help solve some of it, but in the end, the biggest upgrade you can do, is investing in a course on photography, or a few good books on photography, and learn more. It will help you understand what can cause your images to be blurry (80-90% will be because the shutterspeed is simply too slow). Regardless of what camera you use, this is the investment that will pay off in better images.</p>