Nikon 8008 as back-up for F2

chris_pope

This site has been so much help in the past that I have to ask this question.

I have been using the F2 and FM cameras for over 20 years, and I know them

like the back of my hand. I can use them without the meter if needed and have.

I am looking for a back-up camera to help me learn more about the "auto" side

of this game. My girl friend is using a Canon Rebel G2 and I have laughed at

this plastic toy for some time. "Who needs auto focus and exposure" Now I have

to admit there is a place in this world for both of these schools. Im not

going digital but I would like a camera that will let me learn this side of

photography. Is the Nikon 8008 the way to go or is there another transition

system I should think about. Thank you guys for all your help.

The N8008 would be great. It will accept your AIS lenses and has a rangefinder focus verification..The next model was the N8008s and it added the spot meter..These camera's are good transition models with excellent backward and forward compatibility..When you buy an auto focus lens then you will be able to use matrix metering..I have the N8008s and use it quite a bit..I have no complaints about it however they are supposed to be weak in the autofocus area. I do not own a autofocus lens so I cannot really say what it is like...These camera's can be had very inexpensively. The N90s is to be considered as it's really an excellent camera but will cost a bit more.

At first blush I would recommend going with something a bit more modern than an 8008 / 8008s for a variety of reasons...perhaps an N90s (vs. N90) or an F100 if your budget permits. Used and 'excellent condition' F100's can be had for a song. I'm about to get another for a family member.

AFS lenses will leave you with manual focusing on an 8008. AFS is functional on N90s and F100. I can't recall how my AFS lenses responded on the F4...very telling as the F100 is the 'go-to' for AF.