Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 - Which Teleconverter?

william_haines

<p>I have a question that may sound stupid to some, but I need some advice. I am an amateur who loves shooting wildlife, specifically birds. I live in a coastal area so there are plenty of opportunites for shooting shore birds. <br>

I am using a D300s with a 70-200 f/2.8 VRll. I am considering purchasing a Nikon teleconverter but am not sure which one would be the best choice. I read somewhere that the TC 17E 1.7x worked best with the 70-200 but am not sure. I thought I'd ask for a little input.<br>

Also, the lens is awfully heavy and I sometimes about the mount being strong enough. If a t/c is added, are the mounts hearty enough for trekking through the wild. Just a thought...<br>

Thanks so much for the help!</p>

<p>The TC17E is going to treat the 70-200/2.8 II pretty well. Just remember that it's going to reduce that f/2.8 aperture's speed in exchange for bringing you out to 340mm.<br /><br />The lens mount, with or without the TC, is quite sturdy. But I'm wondering about your concern, since you mention hiking. Are you thinking of hanging the camera from your neck, with the lens/TC mounted? Don't do that - if for no other reason than because it's just awkward. There are lots of great packs, slings, bags, and other carrying rig that can let you get where you're going without the camera flopping around like that. Personally, if I were <em>hiking</em> hiking, I'd just remove the lens from the body, cap both of them, and stow them in a comfortable carry rig. <br /><br /></p>