Nikon 24-85/2.8-4 vs. 28-105/3.5-4.5

atonaldenim

I'm looking for a decent zoom lens to go with my new N80. I had previously planned on buying several primes, but I've decided that convenience is more important to me than nitpicking on quality. I've narrowed my search down to the Nikkor 24-85/2.8-4D and 28-105/3.5-4.5D. Here are my thoughts on the dilemma:

<BR><br>

- The 24-85 is faster, but does it need to be stopped down to get decent results anyway?<br>

- Quality on the long end is a priority, as I would like to finance the purchase with portrait work. (Neither is ideal, I know.)<br>

- Is the 24-85 THAT much better to justify the extra $200 above the 28-105?<br>

- Overall, in terms of build quality, color saturation, sharpness, flare and such, how do they compare?<br>

<br>

I am a student, not a pro, but can appreciate quality. I would like to save money where possible, but will fork out the extra cash if necessary. Perhaps I'm thinking too narrowly - should I get the 28-105 and use the extra cash for a decent portrait lens (like the 85/1.8), or maybe I should be looking at third party lenses? Thanks for the advice.<br><br>

Danny Toman

<<convenience is more important to me than nitpicking on quality>>

I have the somewhat older 24-120 AF-D variable aperture zoom lens, the one that evidently suffers from very wide sample variation. Mine's terrific, so I'm not about to give it up. But there are about 1.5 zillion happy users of the Nikkor 28-105 zoom, and it's not particularly expensive, and it covers a wonderfully useful range of focal lengths.

Among your plans, I vote for this one: Get the 28-105 for general purpose photography and the 85 f/1.8 AF-D for portraits if you want narrow depth of field.

<<I am a student, not a pro... I would like to finance the purchase with portrait work>> Hmmm.

The lens hood is a real treat with the AF 28-105mm. Large, cumbersome, and designed for the lens.

The AF 24-85mm hood is much better.