Nikon 18-200mm or separate 18-70mm & 70-200mm?

tomematthews

Hello!

I'm a keen amateur who enjoys, in particular, landscape photography. I also (for work) have to complete a fair amount of real estate photography and some food photography, along with some portraiture.

I currently have a Tamron 18-270mm lens and am looking to replace it. I purchased it as a travel lens a couple of years ago but honestly the image quality is not great (poor sharpness is a particular issue).

I have been advised that I should look to get three lenses - a 10-20mm lens (I already have a Sigma which has been great so far), and then have been recommended the Nikon 18-70mm and 70-200mm lenses. My question is: would the Nikon 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX ED VR II be a good lens that would then cover the whole focal range, rather than having to have a separate 18-70mm and 70mm - 200mm lens?

Is there a reason (image quality?) I would be better going for two separate lenses? After my experience with the Tamron superzoom I'm a little bit hesitant about going for another superzoom.

Thank you!

You have been given good advice regarding avoiding superzooms, very convenient, but optically challenged.

I see you're DX.. which body (s) ? From what you shoot, it doesn't look like you need particularly 'fast' lenses.

The 18-70mm is a bit dated but optically good. Depending on finances you could get the 55-200mm VRII as opposed to the expensive 70-200mm f4 or very expensive 2.8.

Do you have a budget in mind?

It might be handy for your short zoom to have VR to allow for handheld in dim condition. The older 16-85mm 3.5/5.6 VR is non to £££ these days, and gets a few mms at the long and wide end.

Lens 'sets' that have no overlap can occasionally be frustrating.

Do you have a prime of any length?