Nikon 18-200 VR vs. Tamron 18-200, is it worth the extra $ ?

al_peterson1

I purchased a used Tamron AF 18-200 F/3.5-6.3 lens for my D80 camera. Going in, I knew it was

slower than the Nikon 18-200, and no vibration reduction. I've been using it a lot and I've captured

some nice shots with it... especially at close to mid range. At 200mm and waning daylight it gets

challenging for me to get good exposure and many photos are dark or blurry. I contribute this to

slow shutter speed shooting in Program mode, and no tripod.

I'm still an amature photographer but enjoy the hobby. I take my camera with me almost always

when traveling. We hope to vacation in the Yellowstone this Summer. My lenses include the Tamron

18-200, Nikon 18-55 kit lens, Nikon 70-300 VR , Nikon 50mm 2.8 .

I have almost enough money saved for a new Nikon 18-200 VR , since used ones bring almost new

price on Ebay. Before I spend $700 for this lens, I'd like to hear opinions whether I'll notice the

Nikon lens being faster at 200mm.

Perhaps I need to practice technique, such as shoot in A or S priority instead of P mode ?

Perhaps I should get used to shooting at higher ISO levels, such as 400-800 ?

Thanks in advance for your help.

First of all, the Nikon 18-200mm AF-S VR should be below $700 new, but since you already have the 70-300mm AF-S VR, I don't see why you also need a better 18-200. Would you consider selling both the 18-55 and 18-250(?) Tamron and get the new 16-85 AF-S VR? That will get you a bit wider and overlaps nicely with the 70-300.

Nikon's AF system is designed for lenses that are f5.6 or faster. That is why I am strongly against those Tamron 18-250mm lenses that are f6.3 on the long end.

>I'm still an amature photographer but enjoy the hobby<

An amateur is someone who loves what they do, Al. Do sell yourself short because you don't earn your living from photography. You enjoy photography because you want to, not because you have to.