Nikon 17-55mm f.28 DX lens vs. Canon EF-S 17-55 mm f2.8 IS USM

luis_lucero

I'm new to photo.net forums, and I'm very pleased by the level of the

discussions I have read here. I have learn already a lot from other members

questions and answers concerning digital photography.

Therefore, I'm confident that you guys can help me on an important decision.

I would like to know how the Nikkor 17-55mm f2.8 DX lens compares to the similar

focal length Canon EF-S 17-55mm f2.8 IS USM, in terms of resolution,

distortions, and other critical performance parameters, or any other

considerations that in your opinion I should be aware of.

I do not have any of those lenses at present time, nor any of the DSLR cameras

to use those lenses either. After many years of practicing film photography as a

dedicated advanced amateur in 35mm and various medium formats, mostly black and

white with high quality equipment, and now closer to retirement, I'm thinking of

"going digital" beyond the basic level of a "point and shoot". But I haven't

decided yet between the Nikon and Canon DSLR cameras yet. I believe that

learning of the differences between these two lenses, meaning the 17-55mm/2.8

zoom range from the two brands, will significantly add reasons to decide which

way to go. Let's say, the Nikon D80 or Canon 30D roads. No offenses meant to

Nikon or Canon enthusiasts, please.

Thank you very much for any "light" on this matter.

The following two tests might be interesting to read ...

http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/lenses/nikkor_1755_28/index.htm

http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/lenses/canon_1755_28/index.htm

... however, note, that the raw MTF numbers cannot be compared

between the two systems (since two different cameras were used),

but the general trend can be compared.

You'll find, that these two lenses are pretty much behaving the