Nikon 10-24mm + 24-70mm or only the 70-200mm?

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by maximilian_gajek, Sep 15, 2011.

1. Hi. I have the choice of buying the 10-24mm and the 24-70mm or only the 70-200mm.
    It will be mounted on a Nikon D7000.
    What is the better choice?
    I'm pretty new to photography. So i don't reeaally know what i like to shoot yet. But i have found a special interrest in shooting landscapes. and portraits are also nice. But wildlife seems very interesting to shoot, and i also do some city and candid street shots in low light. But i don't really know what to get really. What is the better choice for me?

2. ShunCheung

ShunCheung Administrator

Those are drastically different lenses for totally different purposes, and they are expensive, higher-end ones. Clearly you are not sure what you need. Unless you are wealthy so that money is completely a non-issue, I think you are better off waiting until you know what you need.
    Do you already have something like a 16-85mm DX AF-S? Start shooting a little more and develop your interest.

3. My ideaal set-up for DX was for years: Sigma 10-20, Nikkor 17-55 and a Nikkor 80-200 and later a 70-200. Before I had this set-up I had the same with a 28-70 instead of the 17-55 and I had to change often between the 10-20 and 28-70, when I replaced the 28-70 with a 17-55 I nearly had to change between the lenses(only for the extreme UW) and I never missed the 15(25)mm.