Nikkormat Ftn eyepiece and flash help!

chloechalmers

Hello! I recently got given a Nikkormat FTn and i have noticed it does not have an eyepiece, is this a problem? does it need one?

also as it does not have a mount for a flash, does a flash mount screw into the eyepiece?

what flash and flash mount do I get ?

I'm sorry I'm very new to all of this!

I have a Nikkormat FTN laying beside me as I type this.

First of all, what do you mean by "doesn't have an eyepiece"? The FTN has a threaded "porthole" for the viewfinder. It can be used as is with nothing on it, although it will accept any screw-in accessories meant for "low eyepoint" finders. This means later Nikon Fs, the F2 series, the non-HP F3, and all the "compact" Nikons in the FE and FM series. If you go shopping, most that you will see will be marketed for the FM, FM2, FM3a, FE, and FE2 although they will also fit your FTN(I just checked one off my FE to make sure of this).

As I said, you don't NEED anything, but many folks will like a basic rubber ring. I always use these(I don't have enough of them in this size, so I swap them between cameras) since I wear glasses and the naked eyepiece scratches the heck out of even my AR-coated plastic lenses(after my next eye appointment, I'm ordering a set of glass lenses to go in an old set of frames for this very reason).

You have a few other options, too. If you normally wear glasses but want to take them off to use your camera, there are screw-in diopters available. These can also take a rubber ring. The DK-3 is a round rubber cup that will fit. I don't know the part number offhand, but I have a right-angle viewer that will work. There's a magnifying eyepiece that will probably take a bit of hunting to find.